Perhaps now more than ever before, we are all aware of the built environment that surrounds us, and of the impacts it has on the health of individuals, communities, and the planet. The Architecture of Place, an annual collaborative series co-hosted by the Ҵýapp, , and , brings together the established and emerging voices working to create a better built future.

The programs are free and open for public registration, and recorded versions of the programs are made available to all.

The Ҵýapp, INTBAU, and The King's Foundation are excited to host the Spring 2024 Architecture of Place series, featuring three practitioners from different countries, backgrounds and points of view: Austin Tunnell (Building Culture, Oklahoma City, OK, USA), Mamdouh Sakr (King's Foundation School of Traditional Arts, Cairo, Egypt), and Joachim Tantau (Artist, Hamburg, Germany).


The Architecture of Place: In Conversation with Austin Tunnell

Wednesday, February 21, 2024 | 1:00 PM Eastern | 12:00 PM Central | 6:00 PM GMT
Register

The Architecture of Place: In Conversation with Mamdouh Sakr

Thursday, March 21, 2024 | 1:00 PM Eastern | 12:00 PM Central | 5:00 PM GMT
Register

The Architecture of Place: In Conversation with Joachim Tantau

Tuesday, April 23, 2024 | 1:00 PM Eastern | 12:00 PM Central | 6:00 PM BST
Register



Recorded Programs

Past programs in The Architecture of Place series have included lectures and interviews with prominent architects, urbanists, and other design professionals about their work in creating a better built future.

Click here to see all recordings of past entries in The Architecture of Place series.

Sponsors

Presented as part of The Richard H. Driehaus Curricula for the Built Environment at the Ҵýapp. The Ҵýapp is very grateful to The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation for its generous support of this program.

About the Ҵýapp

The Ҵýapp’s (Ҵýapp) mission is to advance the appreciation and practice of the principles of traditional architecture and its allied arts by engaging educators, professionals, students, and enthusiasts. It offers a wide array of programs that are designed to promote the appreciation and practice of classical and traditional design, including classes, travel, lectures, and conferences.

Learn More

About INTBAU

INTBAU’s mission is to support traditional building, the maintenance of local character, and the creation of better places to live. We do this through workshops, summer schools, study tours, conferences, awards, and competitions. Our three objectives are to research, educate, and engage as widely as possible on the value and relevance of traditional architecture and urban design.


About The King's Foundation

The King's Foundation, by focusing on three core tiers - Ҵýapp, Projects, and Attractions - delivers work to improve the built environment, save heritage, and promote culture and education. Through education, the King's Foundation aims to create sustainably planned, built, and maintained communities, championing and celebrating the most important part of any community: its people. The charity continues to train a generation of architects, masterplanners, and placemakers, in order to ensure the continuation of the kind of timeless skills which have been developed over generations.